International Media Law, Policy & Practice (IMLPP) Conference 2018

5 April 2018
IViR Room, 5th floor, REC A

Welcome to the webpage of the third International Media Law, Policy & Practice (IMLPP) conference. Run by students, the conference has been organised as a closing event for the 2018 IMLPP course. IMLPP is an optional course on the specialised Informatierecht LL.M. programme, which is offered by the Institute for Information Law (IViR) at the Faculty of Law, University of Amsterdam. The course coordinator is Dr. Tarlach McGonagle (IViR).

The main aim of the conference is to provide IMLPP students with a platform to present the research that they have carried out during the course. A number of external expert speakers will participate, but the mainstay of the conference will be presentations by the students themselves. The conference will also include a moot court competition involving IMLPP students.

Attendance is open to all students on the Informatierecht LL.M. Programme and all other interested researchers and students.

Draft Conference programme
09.30-09.45 Welcome
Tarlach McGonagle (IViR)
09.45-11.15 Panel I: Platforms and public debate
Chair: Kimberley Klein Meulekamp (IMLPP)
Speakers: Patrick Leerssen (Center for Internet & Society, Stanford Law School & alumnus IMLPP), Judith Möller (ASCoR & IViR), Gianna Hendriks (IMLPP)
11.15-11.45 Tea & coffee
11.45-13.15 International Media Law Moot Court
Judges: Willem F. Korthals Altes (Senior Judge, District Court of Amsterdam), Jacob van de Velde & Sam van Velze (Bureau Brandeis & alumni IMLPP)
Applicants: Sela Kooter & Bengi Zeybek (IMLPP)
Respondents: Bilge Harmankaya & Rahwa Tesfai (IMLPP)
13.15-14.00 Lunch
14.00-15.30 Panel II: Challenges to truth and trust in public debate
Chair: Djoe Kuils (IMLPP)
Speakers: Jennifer Adams (Office of the OSCE Representative on Freedom of the Media), Moo Miero (IMLPP),  Roel Maalderink (Winner, Internetscriptieprijs 2016 & alumnus IMLPP)
15.30-16.00 Tea & coffee
16.00-17.00 Panel III: Safety of Female Journalists online
Chair: Bojana Kostić (alumna IMLPP)
Speakers: Jennifer Adams (Office of the OSCE Representative on Freedom of the Media), Leon Trapman (alumnus IMLPP), Bart Veenstra (Free Press Unlimited)
17.00-17.15 Closing remarks
N.N. (Conference rapporteur, IMLPP)
17.15-17.30 Publication launch
Open Journalism: The Road Travelled and the Road Ahead
Report for the OSCE Representative on Freedom of the Media, 2018
Authors: T. McGonagle & R. Ó Fathaigh (IViR); M. Klus, C. Plaizier, B. Kostić, M. Hanhart ((research) students, Informatierecht LL.M. programme)

Conference Twitter hashtag: #IMLPP2018